for 9-part tenor/bass ensemble



Based on the title, one might think that Samara Rice’s Election Syndrome is, in fact, locked to a specific moment in time, namely the 2016 presidential election. However, the deeply physical and emotive quality of her writing transcends that event.The aural manifestation of anxiety that Rice creates is captivating, and the strength of the closing phrase “we have the ability to conquer,” creates a visceral, relatable, and captivating piece.



Samara Rice is a contemporary classical music composer, pianist, toy pianist, and educator based in Southern California. Textural elements, unusual instrumentation, extended performance techniques, sound effects, gamification, and imagery inspiration combine to form her compositional sound. Her works have been performed and workshopped by notable ensembles and performers such as the Southern California Brass Consortium, Constellation Men's Ensemble, Nadia Shpachenko,Wind Up Elephant (Robert Fleitz & Carrie Frey), Friction Quartet, Hocket, VEDA Quartet, Gnarwhallaby, Amy O'Dell, Choral Arts Initiative, Nick Phillips, Mivos Quartet, and Hannah Addario-Berry, among others. In addition to concert works, Samara is a frequent collaborator and composer for theatre, dance, animation, and film productions. Samara holds an M.M. degree from the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music at California State University, Long Beach and a B.A. in music composition, cum laude, with music department honors from the University of California, San Diego. While at UCSD, she was awarded the Steward Prize for an outstanding creative work. For more information about Samara’s compositions visit




Scores are sold as a digital download with rights for 10 copies. Each composer retains copyright of their work. Rights to perform, record, and re-print this electronic score are granted exclusively to the purchasing organization for only the number of scores purchased through the NOVA Editions website. If additional copies beyond those purchased are required, you must purchase additional licenses (in packs of 10) through this website. 


A reminder: Do not illegally perform or reproduce this music; the proceeds of these purchases directly support the composers in their work and livelihood. 

Election Syndrome - Samara Rice

    Rest (John Milne)
    Famídoté (Eric Malmquist)
    Head Noise (Stephen Deeter)
    the air is full (Nick Cline)
    I had a white room (Nick Cline)
    Twilight Hours (Gregory Brown)
    PAX:NOX (Ryan Townsend Strand)
    Election Syndrome (Samara Rice)
    Embracing Vulnerability (Sean Ellis Hussey)